top of page

My Hurricane Experience

During hurricanes Irma and Maria. It was both a traumatizing, bad, and positive experience. It was positive because I felt like the community became closer and was more willing to help each other. The bad part that some of the people became desperate and violent towards each other. The traumatizing part was when I saw my neighbors roofs going off during the hurricanes, and after when I was hungry and there was no food because the power was gone. I was also worried about my family and friends when I could not communicate with them. Some things that I remember from it was going around the island and looked at all the damage and was amazed what destruction a hurricane can do to peoples’ lives. One of my close friends lost their house in Irma.

These two hurricanes affected my personal life because it put my mom without work because the service and wifi was not working. It was very amazing how everyday you could see things getting back to normal day by day. Sometimes it seemed like the best thing to do would be to just leave.

After only two weeks of trying to recover from Irma we got news that there was going to be another category five hurricane. This news was very terrifying because of what the previous hurricane did to our lives. When it came it was not as bad as it could have been, and I was very grateful because of that. When he came back to school I felt like the school was worried about all of the students on or off the island. I felt like we became a closer family here at school. I felt really blessed when I heard about some of the stories of what happened to some my classmates. This also reminded me that every time you think you have something bad, someone has it worse so always be thankful for the good things in your life.

bottom of page